How To Watch X Men Movies Chronological In Order

x men movies chronological order

Despite the fact that Marvel movies are frequently thrilling and exciting, they may also be difficult to follow at times, if we’re being completely honest. Whether it’s the X-Men series or any other superhero franchise, the timelines aren’t always plain, and the films’ release dates aren’t usually in chronological order—particularly when it comes to the origin stories and spinoffs.

While it may not be as straightforward as, say, Harry Potter 1-8, if you’re up for a movie marathon, be sure to check out this list of X-Men films, which is organized by release date and chronological sequence. In addition, if you like to know the X-Men movies in chronological sequence, we’ve produced a list of them for you as well.

The X-Men Films Are Presented In Chronological Order.

X-Men: First Class (Also Known As X-Men: First Class) (2011)

Although X-Men: First Class was not the first X-Men film to be released in theatres, it was the first in the X-Men universe to be released. The film, which stars James McAvoy as Charles Xavier opposite Michael Fassbender and Kevin Bacon, is set in the 1960s and stars McAvoy in the title role.

X-Men: Days Of Future Past Is A Film About The X-Men From The Future (2o14)

Hugh Jackman and Peter Dinklage star in Days of Future Past alongside Jennifer Lawrence, Halle Berry, Nicholas Hoult, Anna Paquin, James McAvoy, and others. The film’s plot, which takes place in 1973, is why we’ve included it in this section of the chronology. However, much of the story is set in the future, in the year 2023 (which, can you believe, is only two years away from now—wow!) and other years in the future.

Read More: How Many Seasons Of Black Clover

X-Men Origins: Wolverine Is An Action-Adventure Film Directed By Bryan Singer (2009)

Due to the fact that it is a superhero origin narrative, portions of Wolverine’s origins take place in 1845, when he first finds and harnesses his newfound abilities. But, other than that brief flashback, the majority of X-Men Origins: Wolverine takes place in 1979, as James Logan deals with his brother’s rivalry, his experience in special forces, and other issues.

X-Men: Apocalypse Is A Film Directed By Bryan Singer And Starring Hugh Jackman And Jennifer Lawrence (2016)

It takes place in the 1980s, and the X-Men find themselves up against a powerful mutant adversary named En Sabah Nur (played by Oscar Isaac), who is determined to bring about the end of the planet.

X-Men: The Last Stand (X-Men: Dark Phoenix) (2019)

X-Men: Dark Phoenix, starring Sophie Turner (a.k.a. Jean Gray, who becomes the Phoenix by the end of the film), takes place in 1992 and is the final installment in the X-Men film series to chronicle the lives of the series’ adolescent cast members.

X-Men (Also Known As X-Men) Are A Fictional Superhero Team Created By American Comic Book Writer Stan Lee In The 1960s (2000)

When it came to the actual world, X-Men was the first film in the franchise to be released. The XMCU (the X-Men Cinematic Universe), is the sixth movie in the overall storyline, and it is the sixth chronologically in the overall storyline. The events of X-Men take place in 2000, the same year that the film was released in theatres in the actual world. The X-Men universe is established in this film, which introduces the Brotherhood and, of course, the X-Men.

Read More: The Blacklist Season 9 And Release Date

X2: X-Men United Is A Sequel To X1 (2003)

The first sequel to the franchise, X2: X-Men United, was released in 2003, and the events of the film take place in the same year. When anti-mutant colonel William Stryker kidnaps Professor X, the X-Men are forced to join forces with their archenemy, compelling them to work together.

X-Men: The Last Stand Is A Film In The X-Men Franchise (2006)

The film X-Men: The Last Stand, which premiered in 2006, served as the conclusion to the original series. The government discovers a cure for mutations in this sort of sequel to the original film. Jean Gray also appears in the series for the first time as her alternate ego, Phoenix, which was released on the same day as the series, but not in the same order as the series.

The Wolverine Is A Fictional Character Created By American Comic Book Writer Jack Kirby In The 1960s (2013)

Wolverine made a triumphant return in this 2013 picture, which served as a prequel to both X-Men Origins: Wolverine and X-Men: The Last Stand movies. Jackman’s character travels to Japan in order to reunite with an old friend whom he had saved years before. It is in this location that Wolverine finds himself lamenting the loss of Jean Grey while being caught up in a conspiracy involving mutants and yakuza members.

Deadpool Is A Fictional Character Created By American Comic Book Writer Robert Kirkman (2016)

Aside from being a pretty terrific movie, the Ryan Reynolds-starring Deadpool flick, which is about a man who is diagnosed with cancer and is determined to go to any length to save his own life, made waves on its own. In addition, while it is not absolutely necessary to watch Deadpool as part of the X-Men series, you may want to include it in your marathon if you want to be extra comprehensive.

The Mutants Of The 21st Century (2020)

In terms of setting, The New Mutants is a little difficult to pin down because it was originally intended to take place in the 1990s, but the powers-that-be ultimately decided that it should take place in the current day. (For, you know, whatever reason you want to provide.) Technically, it takes place in 2017 and introduces five new, young mutants; nonetheless, the events of this film do not have a significant impact on the events of the other films, and vice versa. It’s just sort of floating around in the universe, doing its own thing.

Read More: One Punch Man Season 3 Release Date

X-Men Movies In Order Of Release

  • X-Men: July 14, 2000
  • X2: May 2, 2003
  • X-Men: The Last Stand: May 26, 2006
  • X-Men Origins: Wolverine: May 1, 2009
  • X-Men: First Class: June 3, 2011
  • The Wolverine: July 26, 2013
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past: May 23, 2014
  • Deadpool: February 12, 2016
  • X-Men: Apocalypse: May 27, 2016
  • Logan: March 3, 2017
  • Deadpool 2: May 18, 2018
  • Dark Phoenix: June 7, 2019
  • The New Mutants: August 28, 2020

If you love reading this article, then you will more articles on my site, FarhanTech